SECPA 2019 Annual Meeting Hosted at LCC Wellness Center



Kevin Karney, Southeast Colorado Power Association Board President, noted the anniversaries of SECPA at 80 years of service and 20 years for SECOM in his address to the gathering, Thursday, April 11th  at the Lamar Community College Wellness Center.  Southeast Colorado Power Association, formed in 1937, provides electric power to approximately 10,458 meters in rural southeast Colorado.  The company employs 48 full-time and three part-time employees in 12 counties. SECOM provides high-speed telecommunication circuits, wireless internet and voice services.

He noted a secondary highlight regarding SECPA’s first-ever capital credits retirement of over $130,000, fulfilling an original non-profit promise. He renewed a commitment in the 2019 budget for a growth trend in the coming year.  Karney noted that combined the companies contributed $861,000 in property taxes, $8.2 in payroll and $53,000 in contributions to a variety of charitable entities.

Cowboy Poet, Bill Bunting Provided Opening Entertainment

Jack Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, noted in his prepared remarks the past year was significant as it was SECPA’s 3rd straight year without a rate increase which holds true for next year’s budget.  There was 9% sales growth which topped the $30 million mark.  Increased sales allowed for greater opportunity to improve the company’s distribution network, equipment replacements, employee training and capital credit retirements.  Other highlights included a new substation and a 4-megawatt solar farm east of Vilas which has become a net power cost reducer.

He noted positive economic developments for SECOM as the company reached its first ever 8-figure total revenue mark at over $11 million, a 17% year over year increase attributable to internal sales efforts. Total assets grew by 14%, or $3.3 million and peak internet demand for the company showed an increase of 75%.

A welcoming address to the attendees was made by Tom Grasmick, Prowers County Commissioner and the meal was served by regional FFA students.

2019 SECPA Scholarship Winners:

BASIN $1,000 Scholarship awarded to Levi Collins, Senior Swink High School; TRI-STATE $1,000 Scholarship awarded to Kaitlyn Smith, Fowler High School; SECPA $1,000 Scholarship awarded to Jacob Wright, Walsh High School; SECPA $1,000 Scholarship awarded to Chelsea Alton, Walsh High School and SECPA $1,000 Scholarship awarded to Jeffrey Henderson, Lamar High School



Filed Under: City of GranadaCity of HollyCity of LamarCity of WileyCollegeConsumer IssuesCountyEconomyFeaturedMedia ReleasePublic SafetySchoolUtilities


About the Author: