Crespin Wins Return to Mayor for Lamar

Voters in Lamar returned a yes vote for incumbent mayor, Kirk Crespin.  The vote was  1,248 in favor versus 690 for those voting for his challenger, Nick Lopez.   Crespin will remain in office for a new, two-year term.

There was a three-candidate race for two seats on the Lamar City Council for Ward III representation.  Incumbents Rafael Rodriguez and Joe Gonzales, along with challenger Mike Bellomy entered their names in the November election.  Voters had the option of selecting two of those three candidates for a four-year term and a two-year term on the council.  Depending on who received the most votes, either Rafael Rodriguez or Mike Bellomy would have been the councilperson serving a four-year term.  Joe Gonzales would serve a two-year term as he was appointed to his seat on the council.  The voters selected  Bellomy and Gonzales to serve on the council with the votes going 249 for Rodriguez, 276 for Gonzales and 289 for Mike Bellomy.

Two councilpersons, Oscar Riley from Ward II and Manuel Tamez from Ward I were running unopposed for four-year terms.

Voters in the Prowers County Hospital District voted against modifying the term of office on the Prowers Medical Center Board of Directors.    The vote was  2,565 to 894 against the modification which would broaden their terms from two consecutive four-year terms to three consecutive terms.  These are unofficial results.
By Russ Baldwin

Filed Under: City of LamarElectionsFeaturedHot Topics


About the Author: