Hartshorn Receives Honorary Cattlemen’s Award at Bent-Prowers 150th Banquet

Milton Rink Presents Life Member Award to Kerry Hartshorn of Granada



LAMAR – Kerry Hartshorn was honored during the annual Bent-Prowers Cattle & Horse Growers Association banquet April 6th at Lamar Community College’s Equine Arena. Hartshorn, of Granada, was selected as the association’s prestigious Honorary Life Member Award recipient.

Hartshorn “is persistent, dedicated, and humble,” according to the 2018 award recipient, Milton Rink, who made the 2019 presentation. He said Hartshorn’s quiet diligence and foresight helped to make Bent-Prowers and CCA membership unified. Hartshorn was an active cattlemen board member, junior advisor and finally president of Bent-Prowers Cattle & Horse Growers in 2001.

In addition to the cattlemen’s board, he was instrumental in starting a first responder’s service in the Granada area, plus he served on the Granada Pride Committee, the Granada School Board and East Prowers County Weed District. He is a past recipient of the Prowers County Humanitarian Award and JC Outstanding Coloradoan Award.

Hartshorn, along with his wife Shawna, are still actively farming and ranching in the Granada area where they raised two sons, Kyle and Matthew, and one daughter, Mariah.

Hartshorn’s surprise honor highlighted the evening, which drew about 120 ag supporters from across Southeast Colorado.

Clyde Chess

The night also included cowboy punch bowl, auction, and entertainment. Clyde Chess of Rush shared his award-winning cowboy poetry during the prime rib supper. The auction, which included framed artwork and signs, 25/7 Media radio advertising, a roping dummy, Colorado Mills gift baskets and a stained-glass window, raised about $2300 for Bent-Prowers Endowment Trust.

Sponsors included 25/7 Media, Carrizo Stone LLC, Colorado Mills Inc., Community State Bank, Farm Credit of Southern Colorado, hecTire Repair, La Junta Livestock Commission, McClave State Bank, and Olive Street Station.

Nolan Davis and Matt Nuehold

Outgoing President Matt Neuhold of Lamar presented the traveling buckle to incoming president Amber Freouf, of Bristol. Freouf takes over the helm of the 200-member association, which was named for the original southern counties of the then-Colorado Territory. Neuhold, in turn, was given a custom-made buckle set for his service to the association, which now serves the Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Otero and Prowers county agricultural community.

Amber Froeuf Receives Belt Buckle as New Association President

The Southeast Colorado Junior Cattlemen also held its annual meeting on April 6th, plus sued the social hour to raised scholarship funds. Quade Malone of Wiley was named the 2019 scholarship recipient.
(Photos Courtesy of Susan Russell)

Filed Under: Consumer Issues

About the Author: