Educational Session Kicks off Annual Cattlemen Festivities


LAMAR – Where will the beef industry be in 5 years? Bent-Prowers Cattle & Horse Growers Association hosted an open educational session April 1 at the Elk’s Lodge in Lamar. A panel of Thane Milenski, with cattle feeder and processor JBS/Five Rivers, Alan Woodard, CEO of Farm Credit of Southern Colorado, and Rick Robbins, general manager of Colorado Mill, discussed the long-range future and outlined possible trends. The three men, who represented various segments of the ag industry, fielded numerous questions from the 60 southeast Colorado cattlemen attending.


Outgoing Pres. Colby Mick of McClave, right, presents the traveling president’s buckle to Nolan Davis of Lamar, who was elected as the 2017/18 president of Bent-Prowers Cattle & Horse Growers.

In addition to the panel discussion, Meredith Harrison of Colorado State University gave a program on the “All Heifer, No Cow” beef production system. The research is being tested for profitability and challenges.  

Curtis Russell of WW Feed & Supply spoke on “How the Veterinary Feed Directive Impacts Your Operation,” where he reiterated that producers must plan ahead and form a strong veterinary-client-feed supplier relationship.  


Thane Milenski makes a point while moderator Pat Ptolemy, and fellow panelists Alan Woodard and Rick Robins listen.

Industry reports were heard from Chris Whitney, Colorado Brand Board commissioner; Greg Bloom, Colorado Beef Council director; and Terry Fankhauser and Erin Karney of Colorado Cattlemen’s Association (CCA). Each provided updates and fielded questions. 

The Bent-Prowers Cattle & Horse Growers is one of Colorado’s oldest livestock organizations that serves members in Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Otero and Prowers counties. Members elected Nolan Davis of Lamar as president; Matt Neuhold of Lamar as first vice president; Amber Freouf of Bristol as second vice president; and re-elected Susan Russell of Sugar City as secretary/treasurer. Directors elected for the multi-county area are: Lori Chase, Terry DeWitt, Caleb DuVall, Bruce Fickenscher, Bill Gray, Cade Hasser, Cody Johnson, Bo Karney, Pat Karney, Bill Larson, Reggy Lusk, Randy McEndree, David Mendenhall, Ron O’Neal, Milton Rink, Curtis Russell, and Timy Trosper. Outgoing president Colby Mick, plus recent past presidents Pat Ptolemy and Bill Hancock, round out the board.

During the business session, Hancock of Rocky Ford was thanked for his service on the CCA board and the membership formally voted to nominate Curtis Russell of Sugar City to the CCA board as a southeast Colorado quarter representative.  

Outgoing President Mick presented Davis with the traveling trophy belt buckle, a cowboy’s version of passing of the gavel. Davis will take over the helm of the nearly 300-member association, which was named for the original southern counties of the then-Colorado Territory. 

Southeast Colorado CattleWomen and Southeast Colorado Junior Cattlemen members met, plus the youth held their own annual meeting. Hunter Thorn was elected president, Christian Ptolemy as vice president and Tatum Chase as secretary/treasurer. Chase also was selected as the scholarship recipient. Bent-Prowers Cattlemen kicked off its 148th year with a banquet, auction and cowboy ball.
(Photos courtesy of Susan Russell) 



Filed Under: AgricultureCity of LamarConsumer IssuesCountyEconomyEducationElectionsEntertainmentEventsFeaturedHistoryMedia Release


About the Author: