Tamez and Gonzales New City Council Members

Councilmen, Joe Gonzales and Manuel Tamez


Nine candidates from two Wards, I and III, in the City of Lamar were interviewed for the two open positions on the Lamar City Council this past Monday evening, November 25th by newly elected Mayor Kirk Crespin and councilmembers Rafael Rodriguez, Gerry Jenkins, Oscar Riley and Anne-Marie Crampton. Manuel Tamez and Joe Gonzales were elected by the council in a paper ballot.

Crespin’s position in Ward I became vacant with his election to Mayor and Beverly Haggard, who ran for Mayor from Ward III, had to vacate her seat on the council when she announced her candidacy for mayor.

Those candidates who interviewed from Ward I were Manuel Tamez, Jay Brooke and Joe Bennett. The six candidates from Ward III who answered questions from the council were Joe Gonzales, Bev Haggard, Maria Gutierrez, Ben Fernandez, Kyle Ames and Shawnarae Falconberg who was not present for the interview. Each of the nine had to submit an application for council consideration by November 20th and the council made its decision during the course of the meeting following the work session interviews.

Mayor Crespin said he was impressed with the turnout of applicants, an indication of public interest and a willingness to serve the City of Lamar. “We’ll give the official oath of office at the next council meeting,” he told the audience. That will be on Monday, December 9th.
By Russ Baldwin

Filed Under: City of LamarElectionsEmploymentEventsFeaturedPolitics


About the Author: