LCC’s Phi Theta Kappa Welcomes 17 New Members




LAMAR, CO – Lamar Community College’s Beta Eta Gamma chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 17 new members in an induction ceremony on November 11, 2019.

The newest members of Phi Theta Kappa at LCC are Karina Cazares (Lamar), Austin Cook (Walsh), Katelyn Emick (Lamar), Marley Flint (Lamar), Alisse Hall (Las Animas), Rudy Hernandez (Lamar), Kaitlyn Kent (Holyoke), Alison Kulesza (Bailey), Cuautemoc Mosqueda Garcia (Lamar), Kailey Ramsay (Lamar), Morgan Reed (Lamar), Dylan Renquist (Walsh), Christina Salgado (Wiley), Derek Showman (Las Animas), Allan Soto-Gonzalez (Lamar), Angelika Vazquez (Lamar), and Maddy Williams (Lamar).

After LCC President Linda Lujan welcomed new members and congratulated them on their accomplishment, guest speaker Joe Massotti, Mathematics faculty at LCC, addressed the inductees.

Professor Massotti spoke of the times in our life when we will face negative situations – loss, failure, betrayal, disappointment, and how important it is to take those moments as a lesson to be more giving, more hopeful, more trustworthy, and more honorable in our lives. He also expressed to the students how much the faculty and staff and Lamar Community College respect and appreciate them for their hard work and excellence in the classroom.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic honor society with a two-fold mission: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leaership, service and fellowship programming. Founded in 1910, it is the oldest and largest academic honor society of its kind.

The Beta Eta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa promotes and honors academic excellence at LCC and is active on campus. Phi Theta Kappa members are eligible to apply for millions of dollars in scholarships each year, as well as gain leadership skills and network with other high achieving college students. LCC’s Phi Theta Kappa officers for this year are Jessica Emmons (Lamar) President, Alex Higbee (Lamar) Vice President for Service, Musa Mohamed (Amarillo, TX) Vice President for Leadership, Blayton Williams (Jonesboro, AR) Vice President for Scholarship, Alex Acosta Hernandez (Garden City) Public Relations, and Dominique Soto (Lamar), Recording Secretary. Induction of new members occurs every fall and spring semester.

To be eligible to become a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have a 3.5 grade-point average after completing 12 or more credit hours of college-level work, be currently enrolled, and pursuing an AA, AS, AGS or AAS degree.

For more information on Phi Theta Kappa at LCC, contact David Frankel at 336.1547 or Kelly Emick at 336.1532.

Filed Under: City of LamarCollegeEducationFeaturedMedia Release


About the Author: