Lamar Community College President Dr. Linda Lujan Receives Award

Dr. Linda Lujan, LCC President


(Lamar, CO)-

Lamar Community College (LCC) President, Dr. Linda Lujan, was recently named as one of 25 recipients to receive the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Paragon Award.

Given at the PTK Catalyst Convention, which was held early April in Orlando, the Paragon Award recognizes new college presidents who have strongly shown support of student successes by recognizing academic achievement, leadership and service among high-achieving students at their college. Students nominate their presidents and more than 500 college presidents were eligible to receive the award this year.

“I nominated Dr. Lujan because of her immediate impact on our chapter from the first months she joined LCC,” said LCC PTK Chapter Advisor and History Professor Kelly Emick. “She shows her enthusiasm for Phi Theta Kappa every time she meets our members and has supported us financially as well – our Chapter has made its first trips to the PTK National Convention, and we now have a scholarship through the LCC Foundation for new members who have a financial barrier to joining our Chapter.”

Research has shown that strong presidential leadership and support of PTK increases member success and their future college experiences, and 91 percent of PTK students are successful in their endeavors.

“I was surprised and honored to be recognized for this student-nominated award,” said Lujan, “and was proud that our two chapter presidents were able to attend and accept this award on behalf of myself and the work we’re doing at Lamar Community College to support our PTK students.”

Co-presidents of LCC’s PTK Chapter, Beta Eta Gamma, Jessica Eddleman and Anamarija Mikovic, attended the convention on behalf of the college. LCC’s PTK Chapter has been recognized by PTK as a REACH Chapter for its high rates of member acceptance and is a 5-Star Chapter, the highest level of recognition available within the organization.

Filed Under: City of LamarCountyEducationElectionsFeaturedMedia ReleaseSchool


About the Author: