Deadline Approaching for Chamber Citizen of the Year Nominations


Lamar Amtrak Depot


Friday, January 11th, is the deadline for submitting a nomination form or letter for the ‘Citizen of the Year’ Award which will be presented during the Lamar Chamber of Commerce’s 98th annual banquet, Wednesday, January 30th, at the Lamar Eagles Lodge.  They should be returned to the offices at 109A East Beech Street in Lamar by 11:30am.

The criteria that the individual or in some cases, group, is selected for includes: leadership, community involvement and cooperation and support regarding business or community projects. This includes their personal participation that has resulted in the betterment of the community.  A biographical submission of the candidate is also requested.

The banquet also provides an opportunity for the president to thank current and departing Chamber board members for their past contributions and recognizes incoming board members for 2019.

Three new directors for the Lamar Chamber of Commerce will be introduced to the public at the 98th Annual Chamber Banquet; Robert Townsend, Holly Burton and Clifford Boxley will become board members for a three year commitment, replacing outgoing members: Cassie Looper, Theron Hammer and Kayla Sailors.

Remaining board members include: Jerry Roseberry, Francisco Martinez, Jose Ramos, Tallie Harmon and Tracy Vanture, Jessica Medina and Mary Dela Virgin and President Kendra Buchanan.

The Humanitarian and Business of the Year Award will be presented as well.

Reservations for the banquet dinner should be made ASAP. Contact the Lamar Chamber offices at 719-336-4379 for additional information on a single seating for corporate/business table.

By Russ Baldwin

Filed Under: City of LamarConsumer IssuesEntertainmentEventsFeatured


About the Author: