Holly Election Determines New Board for Fire/Ambulance District



Voting was held in the Holly Fire and Ambulance District Tuesday, October 9, 2018 to determine the top five vote-getters who will receive a seat on the District Board and will be selected to serve a two year or four year term. That board will also appoint a representative to serve on a three person committee to oversee funds from the November Ballot Question 1A regarding a county-wide ambulance funding tax, should it pass. That question calls for the establishment of a county sales tax increase of 0.025 per cent to fund ambulance service in Prowers County.  Should that ballot issue be defeated next month, there would be no need for a representative to be selected to the three person committee.

Approximately 900 ballots were distributed to eligible voters in the Holly District and according to Jana Rushton, Election Official, 418 ballots were returned. Voting was done by either return mail or delivered in person at the Fire and Ambulance headquarters.  The unofficial results have indicated these five persons have been elected to the board:

Rodney Hazen-286 and a 2 year term, Austin Hazen-282 and a 4 year term, Robert Fletcher-243 and a 4 year term, Marge Campbell-231 and a 4 year term and Thomas Wagner-217 and a 2 year term. These persons will be sworn in to office on October 17th.

The remaining ballots were as follows:
Sharilyn Crum – 90
Jarod Gulley – 137
Cathy Hausner – 40
Jessalyn Hilger – 61
Jacob Holdren – 85
Dennis Leathers – 131
Rodney Swisher – 92
Janice Wesienhorn – 122
Justin Willhite – 33 (write in candidate)
By Russ Baldwin

Filed Under: City of HollyCountyElectionsFeaturedPoliticsThe Journal Alert


About the Author: