High Plains Snow Goose Festival Second Annual Photography Contest Winners


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


The 2017 High Plains Snow Goose Festival, in partnership with the Lamar Chamber of Commerce, Colorado Parks and Wildlife, Southeast Colorado Arts Council and Boeken Trust, sponsored the 2nd annual High Plains Snow Goose Photography Contest that featured entries from many talented photographers from Southeast Colorado.

This contest is open to the general public for both amateur and professional photographers. Adult and Youth participants entered images in the following categories: Wildlife, Landscape, Birds, Historical and Waterfowl (Committee’s Choice).

The Committee’s Choice category was new for the 2017 festival. The Committee’s Choice topic will change each year. The planning committee felt that having a new topic would add a continuing challenge for contest participants and they really wanted to see the adult verses youth perspective in the entries for this category.

Prizes were awarded to one photo in each category (Bird, Wildlife, Landscape, Historical and Waterfowl, the Committee’s Choice category in each age group (Adult and Youth). The prize for each category for Adult was $100.00 in Lamar Chamber of Commerce LUV Bucks and $50 LUV Bucks for each the four repeating categories. The Committee’s Choice category had a special prize, consisting of Go Pro Camera for the Adult group and a set of binoculars for the Youth. Unfortunately, there were no youth entries for the Committee Choice Waterfowl category this year so the binoculars will be held over for next year’s contest.

Second Annual High Plains Snow Goose Festival Photography Contest Winners.

Honorable Mention – Norma Verhoeff
Winner – Jim Thompson
WinMaire Misenheimer

Honorable Mention – Jill Smith
Winner – Ron Harms

Honorable Mention – Norma Verhoeff
Winner – Linda Bourne

Honorable Mention –  Sally DePra
Winner –  Jim Thompson

Committee Choice – Waterfowl
Winner – Jim Thompson

People’s Choice Award
Jill Smith – Fox on the Ice

Congratulations to all the Winners and Honorable Mention recipients!

Filed Under: EntertainmentEnvironmentEventsFeaturedThe ArtsTourism


About the Author: