Granada, Holly, Wiley Hold Municipal Elections





Voters in three communities in Prowers County voted for their representatives this past Tuesday, April 3rd and one mill levy issue.

Holly voters went in favor of incumbent Tony Garcia as mayor with 80 votes.  He had been opposed by Derrell Bailey who had 34 votes.  There were five candidates for three open trustee seats.  The votes were cast as follows:  Jacob Holdren – 68, Anthony Moldenhauer – 66, Aaron Leiker – 65, Justin Wilhite – 64, and Jarid Gulley – 51.

Glenn Otto was unopposed and re-elected as Mayor of Granada in municipal voting held on Tuesday, April 3rd.

There were six candidates for four seats for Trustees with the highest votes serving four year terms and the lowest serving a two year term.  The voting was as follows, and will be authenticated at a later date.  Pete Hernandez with 60 votes, Andria Riddle with 56, Traegon Marquez with 49 and Argie Thrall with 42.  Carrie Esquibel received 34 votes and Mary Ellen Shafer received 16.

Wiley voters decided in favor of a 19 mill levy increase, making possible an additional $22,536.24 a year to be spent on various road repairs through the annual operating and capital expense in the town’s budget.  According to Wiley Town Clerk, Debbie Dillon, these numbers are not authenticated at this time. The vote in favor was 91 and 20 votes were in opposition to the mill levy increase.

Three of the four candidates for Wiley Town Board will serve four year terms.  They are Sandy Coen with 93 votes, Julie Esgar with 91, Tom Proctor with 89 and Dale Stewart, who received 85 votes, will serve a two year term.

Filed Under: City of GranadaCity of HollyCity of WileyElectionsEventsFeaturedPolitics


About the Author: