30 LCC Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

LCC Inductees


(Lamar, Colorado; April 16, 2018) Lamar Community College’s Beta Eta Gamma chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 30 new members in an induction ceremony on March 26, 2018. This is one of the largest classes of new members, as the Chapter celebrates its twentieth year at LCC.

The new inductees included Marcia Abrams (Lamar), Alexis Alvarez (Hondo, TX), Lauren Bagwell (Lamar), Shayla Brown (Wiley), Kayla Brown (Wiley), Madison Buxton (Lamar), Dwight Campbell (Lamar), Christopher Carere (Lamar), Cassandra Clark (Lamar), Quentin Coberly (Lamar), Amoy Coley (Lamar), Alexa Comstock (Lamar), Onuralp Demirer (Istanbul, Turkey), Kayla Donahue (Castle Rock), Yissel Garcia (Kit Carson), Cathrine Gillaspie (Lamar), Jeffrey Henderson (Lamar), Alexis Johnson (Larkspur), Blanca Mendoza (Lamar), Anamarija Mikovic (Majdanpek, Serbia), Madeline Misenheimer (Lamar), Eryah Mora (Wiggins), Nonica Rivera (Thornton), Tate Rohr (Wiley), Lena Srdanov (Novi Sad, Serbia), Thomas Torres II (Lamar), Makennah Tyree (Wiley), Danielle Wallace (Wiley), Jayci Westphal (Springfield), and Grace Williams (Lamar).

After Phi Theta Kappa Chapter President Mia Cory and LCC President Dr. Linda Lujan welcomed new members and congratulated them on their accomplishment, guest speaker Greg Cash addressed the inductees.

Cash ,an Agriculture instructor and Department Chair at LCC, shared his own passion for education and the pursuit of excellence in whatever you choose to do in life. He encouraged the inductees to be always interested in learning more, no matter where they are or what they are doing.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic honor society with a two-fold mission: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. Founded in 1910, it is the oldest and largest academic honor society of its kind.

The Beta Eta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa promotes and honors academic excellence at LCC and is active on campus.

To be eligible to become a member, students must have a 3.5 grade-point average after completing 12 or more credit hours of college-level work, be currently enrolled, and pursuing an AA, AS, AGS or AAS degree. Phi Theta Kappa members are eligible to apply for millions of dollars in scholarships each year, as well as gain leadership skills and network with other high achieving college students.  Induction of new members occurs every fall and spring semester.

LCC’s Phi Theta Kappa officers are Mia Cory, President; Travis Struble, Vice President; Austen Emick, Public Relations, Sarah Trosper, Secretary.

For more information on Phi Theta Kappa at LCC, contact Dr. David Frankel at 336.1547, Kelly Emick at 336.1532, or Dr. Susan Hoffman at 336-1545.

Filed Under: City of LamarCollegeEducationEventsFeaturedMedia ReleaseSchoolYouth


About the Author: