LCC Seeks Nominations for New President’s Community Circle



Lamar Community College


(Lamar, Colorado; November 23, 2017) Dr. Linda Lujan, president of Lamar Community College, is requesting nominations for individuals to serve on the newly-formed President’s Community Circle of LCC.

“Here at LCC, we are dedicated to meeting the needs of our service area,” Dr. Lujan said. “For this, we need the expertise of those who know our community best and can share their input as well as advocate for the college as a whole.”

Members will be representative of Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa, and Prowers County; knowledgeable of the trends in their area of expertise; aware of the needs in their communities; and committed to promoting higher education for residents in the communities served by LCC.

Individuals can self-nominate or nominate another who they believe would be a good voice for the community. All nominations are due to the President’s Office of LCC by December 20, 2017.

Each nomination should include the nominee’s name, professional affiliation, phone number, email address, mailing address, and a brief statement regarding why they would be a good addition to the Circle.

The President’s Community Circle will serve as a community voice for LCC and help to shape strategic directions for the college as it serves the evolving needs of its service-area counties, school districts, cities and towns, business and industry, universities, and non-profit entities. Providing expertise from unique perspectives, members of the Circle will play a vital role in helping to ensure that Lamar Community College remains a strong partner in Southeast Colorado.

“Over the years, LCC has benefited greatly from the direction of our Advisory Council,” Dr. Lujan commented. “With our new President’s Community Circle, we are looking to maintain that core group while adding additional members to give LCC the benefit of a wider range of experience.”

Five members of the President’s Community Circle will also serve as members of the President’s Community Advisory Council on a rotating basis as required by State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education (SBCCOE).

Current College Advisory Council members are Dave Esgar (Wiley), Gib Sprout (Lamar), Jay Brooke (Lamar), Jo Dorenkemp (Holly), Nikki Johnson (Campo), and Marsha Wilhite (Holly).

Members of the President’s Community Advisory Council advise the college president and the Board on the long-term educational needs of the area served by the college and on other matters identified in statute.

Nominations are due by December 20, 2017. Nominations can be emailed to or mailed to: President’s Office, Lamar Community College, 2401 S. Main Street, Lamar, CO 81052.

For additional information, visit

Filed Under: City of LamarCollegeEducationFeaturedMedia ReleaseSchoolYouth


About the Author: