Lamar City Council Elections this November

Candidates for Lamar City Council can pick up their petition forms for nomination on Tuesday, August 8th from the City Clerk’s Office.  The deadline for filing a petition with the Clerk is August 28th at 4pm.

Each of the three wards in the city will have one open council seat, plus the Mayor-at Large. Ward 1 is represented by Anne-Marie Crampton and Kirk Crespin whose term is expiring.  Ward 2 is represented by Gerry Jenkins and Oscar Riley whose term is expiring and Ward 3 is represented by Bev Haggard and Keith Nidey whose term is expiring.  The at-large position for Mayor is not connected to any specific ward, but represents the city as a whole.  The Mayor’s term is for two years and each of the three wards is open for a four year term on the council.

Petitions for the Mayor require 25 signatures of citizens within the Lamar city limits and petitions for councilmembers require 25 signatures from the petitioner’s ward.

Filed Under: City of LamarElectionsFeaturedPolitics


About the Author: